Homecoming…or coming home…

I have to agree there’s always something to coming [or going home] that is moving and emotional. I used to feel this when I used to make the nearly 9000 mile trip home to India every year for vacation or to accompany my mother on her trip to/from the States. The best parts would be the early morning [2 am] snack at home, and the nearly 3 to 4 day resting [and pampering] period to overcome jet lag. Well, I could go on and on about my personal joys of going home…but I would digress.

So, I wanted to capture some of the joys and celebrations of homecoming for alumni and others in a university, and took the opportunity to walk around campus, witness the homecoming parade, and take pictures of interesting people I met at the homecoming event. I also got the chance to try out my new camera [a fuji x100], and complete my daily walking and exercising quota – a double bonus! Here are some pictures I took from the event.

What’s homecoming without a little parade spirit and the big bands? This one brass player was intensely looking at me when I snapped this picture. I also loved the shadows in the harsh sun.

DSCF0059-3

DSCF0062

I tried a bit of shooting from the hip, so to speak, and took a quick picture of this pro newswoman – I think she liked my camera.

DSCF0003

Students from the ROTC added a touch of patriotic feeling in the parade.

DSCF0041

What would the devil take a picture of with a camera [and a DSLR at that]?

DSCF0085

Football fans take note – we’re the land of Don Haskins and the Sun Bowl.

DSCF0093

Look ma, I can fly!

DSCF0206

Can I get that hairdo at Supercuts…hmmm…mental note to ask next time…

DSCF0276

Notwithstanding the face paints…

DSCF0279

Talk about symmetry and balance in a photograph…and these twins show up in my frame…

DSCF0287

World champion bull rider was in attendance.

DSCF0297

Now, that’s what I call an engineer’s cheer…

DSCF0319

Here are two more interesting and colorful shots on a hot, sunny day.

DSCF0324

DSCF0344

All in all, a wonderful experience for me. I felt at peace…I was home.

DSCF0303

Leave a Reply

