Everything’s good with Fish!

I must say fish take a lot of bad rap from us! Sure, they smell like how they should, even when they are in water 24/7, but we don’t have to go make up an entire expression with their smell and say something’s fishy! And then we say, “I feel like fish out of water!” How cruel of us!

And then there’s going on a fishing expedition! Living in a fishbowl! Packed like sardines! Its a fish market! Holy Mackerel! Drink like a fish! Big fish in a small pond! And that there’s plenty of other fish in the sea!

So this one’s to the fish! To their glory, and to how they educate and entertain us, especially when they live in such confined spaces as an aquarium.

I’ll begin with this guy – I think he hears us and is really upset and blue.

DSCF6033

This fellow could shock you, and you wouldn’t even know it!

Eel

Jellyfish somehow look very tranquil and at peace with themselves. I think they know they look good! There’s a traveling Jellyfish exhibit at the National Aquarium in Baltimore that I recently visited – I wish I could swim with them, and see what they see!

IMGP1903

IMGP1898

IMGP1895

IMGP1893

IMGP1904

Frogs are another one of my favorite. I didn’t realize they came in so many shapes, colors, and sizes.

IMGP1853

Green frog

Even the frogs wore blue!

DSCF6055

IMGP1879

DSCF6054

I am fascinated by Dolphins and their trainers – amazing how they communicate! Even better than human-human communication sometimes, don’t you agree?

IMGP1914-2

Of course the big fish, and how they dominate the waters is amazing as well, but something in me tells me that I am always for the underdog, er…fish I mean.

Shark?

Two fish…or horse?

IMGP1847

I like Deepo! Looks like he has a great sense of humor!

Deepo!

If there’s more water than land on our Mother Earth, there must be more of them [the fish and other water dwellers] than us. What an amazing ecosystem, with mysteries that we cannot even fathom! We need to understand them better. I plan to visit water reserves in Summer and learn as much as I can.

I’ll end with two nice quotes, one from Tagore, the Indian poet [am just following the previous post from my co-writer], and one that I live by daily in my teaching profession.

The bird thinks it is a favor to give the fish a lift in the air – Rabindranath Tagore

Give a man a fish, and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish, and you feed him for a lifetime – Chinese Proverb.

Leave a Reply

